Lane City, originally called Mineral City (1869-1876), was settled in 1869 and had a population of 600 people by 1872. It was the first mining camp in the Robinson District. The site boasted a ten-stamp mill, mercantile stores, a post office, express office, six saloons, hotels, four boarding houses, restaurants, livery stables, and a blacksmith shop. The Ragsdale Stage Station and hotel was located here. Later, the town was named for Charles B. Lane who purchased the Chainman Mine and Mill in 1896.
Today little remains of Lane City except for a picturesque abandoned school house. The existing remains of buildings and foundations were built after 1900.
Nevada Centennial Marker No. 9.
Ely Interpretive Site.